Weinberg Cycle

Weinberg, Manchester & Liverpool

17 - 21 November 2009


Programme Manchester

Mieczysław Weinberg

Like Shostakovich’s fifteen string quartets, the seventeen by his Polish-born friend, colleague and confidant, Mieczysław Weinberg - by turns passionate, exciting, mysterious, anguished and exploratory, and consistently inspiring - constitute a secret diary of the Soviet intelligentsia. The Danels have performed all the quartets in Manchester over the past four years. Now they offer an historic first-ever survey of the complete cycle, in seven concerts at the Martin Harris Centre.

String quartet n° 1 opus 2/141
String quartet n° 2 opus 3/145
Aria and Capriccio (world premiere)
String quartet n° 3 opus 14

Aria and Capriccio
String quartet n° 4

String quartet n° 5 opus 27
String quartet n° 6 opus 35

Seminar: “The String Quartets of Weinberg”
By Professor David Fanning ad an international panel of experts

String quartet n° 7 opus 59
String quartet n° 8 opus 66
String quartet n° 9 opus 80

String quartet n° 10 opus 85
String quartet n° 11 opus 89

String quartet n° 12 opus 103
String quartet n° 13 opus 118
String quartet n° 14 opus 122

String quartet n° 15 opus 124
String quartet n° 16 opus 130
String quartet n° 17 opus 146
And the “Weinberg Public Choice…”

Quatuor Danel
Marc Danel
(1e violon)
Gilles Millet (2e violon)
Vlad Bogdanas (alto)
Guy Danel (violoncelle)



Click the images to enlarge the picture


Click the images to enlarge the picture


Click the images to enlarge the picture

Programme Liverpool

Mieczysław Weinberg

Requiem (World Premiere)

Thomas Sanderling conductor
Asmik Grigorian soprano
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir
Choristers of Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral



Click the images to enlarge the picture